Was there life before Internet?

March 4, 2010 § Leave a comment

It was a tough day. The blink-blink-blink of my blue TM Net-issue modem was evidently a cry for help, or a final goodbye, because it died this morning. There wasn’t a moment of silence, only a wail of grief – mine. Faced with the prospect of no internet for what could be days, or MAYBE EVEN A WEEK, I took swift action. I took my modem (3 years old and counting) and ran to the first PC vendor I could find in Mid Valley Megamall.

After laughing at me when I told him how long I’ve had it (apparently, nothing is meant to last more than 2 years these days), the dude at one of the stores asked his surly but ultimately helpful lady colleague to go test the modem. They pronounced it dead around 2 PM. Grief, however, is a fickle mistress – it can just as well find a new object on which to hang onto. Grief for dead modem was easily replaced by the grief I felt for having to shell out RM 80 for a new one. All things considered, not a terribly bad expense – IF I STILL HAD A FREAKING JOB.

But hey, I’m not mad at myself for doing the right thing and quitting.

Anyhow, what was I saying? Oh yeah – new modem. It works fine. I have internet again.

Happiness can be found within plastic

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Was there life before Internet? at The Blog of Disquiet.

meta

