“You will be an old maid! And that’s so dreadful!”

February 21, 2010 § Leave a comment

I don’t know what it is about Jane Austen, or the romance of Regency life, happy and unencumbered in the countryside, with letters, and flowers, and cotton long-sleeved gowns and supper of cold chicken and leg of lamb, of balls, long walks, and general good manners (if not exactly good thoughts), but I’m a sucker for it. Watching the BBC version of Emma made me so happy, almost deliriously so, and I actually regretted being greedy and watching 2 episodes last night. Now I’m left with only 1 more to go tomorrow, after today’s treat.

Damn. I’m so going to end up a Miss Bates.

But I can’t help it. I grew up on Austen, I was fed it, and now I keep waiting for a Mr. Darcy to sulk his way into my heart with his secretive charitable good deeds and immense fortune, or a Mr. Knightley to spar verbally with me on all counts and nurse a tender passion for the youthful sprightliness and  sparkling embodiment of joie-de-vivre that is me. DAMN IT.

Oooh, ahhh... the life of a blushing English rose

There is much to be done. To be fair, if I’ve plonked my bum down here, I should be writing more intelligent blog posts, writing essays or poetry, using my brain, but I am not. I’d rather be catatonic, reading tweets from people who care far too much about the things I could care less about (Tiger Woods’ infidelity, Winter Olympics… zzzz), and going from one open browser window to another.

Be careful: this is what Stupidity and Vanity look like

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “You will be an old maid! And that’s so dreadful!” at The Blog of Disquiet.

meta

