June 13, 2010 § 3 Comments

I am silent because of this:

Isn’t that a massive ball?

Also, because I am very good at planning and strategy; I’ve increased my freelance workload for the whole month of the World Cup. That is amazing, and I am now suffering, what with FIFA goons having no ounce of sympathy for Southeast Asian fans and scheduling the best matches at what is 2:30 AM for us. Ah, how we suffer.

But at some point I intend to post a guide (as opposed to review) of Angela Davis’ astounding Women, Race, and Class and a themed-review of several YA novels based on the Tam Lin ballad. I’m not sure if I should include thoughts on Pamela Dean’s Tam Lin, as well, as its hard for me to stay objective and un-fawning like over one of my favourite books of all time.

§ 3 Responses to

  • Aishwarya says:

    I look forward to these posts. What YA books are you using?

    (And are you supporting any team in particular? :) )

    • Subashini says:

      Oh dear, I wasn’t aware that any one was paying attention. Now I’ll have to hold true to my word. :) I just finished Elizabeth Marie Pope’s ‘The Perilous Gard’, which was interesting but troubling at the same time. The others I was thinking of are the Pamela Dean book, and e ‘An Earthly Knight’ by Janet McNaughton, if I got her name right, as well as ‘Fire and Hemlock’ by Diana Wynne Jones.

      I’m seriously rooting for the African teams, especially S.Africa. But that seems unlikely… so then I’ll stick to my Brazil. You? ;)

      • Aishwarya says:

        Spain and the Netherlands because my years of Liverpool fandom have trained me to love teams that are full of talent, considered “big” and still manage to be shit.
        And whoever the underdog is in any match in which these teams are not playing. Because I’m a soft hearted woman. ;)

        I have had Fire and Hemlock on my shelf for ages, and really need to get round to reading it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at The Blog of Disquiet.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,437 other followers

