Published poem

May 3, 2010 § 2 Comments

A poem of mine appears in the April edition of Quarterly Literary Review Singapore. It’s my first poem to be published, as such, if I don’t count the poem that appeared in the now (sadly) non-active Poetika zine. I remember it was the ‘Women’s Issue’ of Poetika, and instead of the usual editor (and founder) Jerome Kugan, that edition of Poetika featured two female guest editors, one of whom was Sharanya Manivannan.

Poetika was a great effort… I remember picking up copies at Silverfish Bookstore in Bangsar with all the excited anticipation of a teenage girl. Which I was, sort of.

My writing attempts, till this point, have always been done in fits and starts. But this year, although I seem to be having a generally shit year in terms of people and “career”, I can’t seem to be able to stop writing.  I think that’s a good thing, obviously, and I almost wept with joy when I was told my poem was accepted by QLRS.

It almost feels like if I could just keep going with my writing, the cliché that “everything will be alright” will come to be true. Despite the general shittiness of life this year.

§ 2 Responses to Published poem

  • Congrats! Good to see that you’ve started submitting your work again, and that it is being published.

    And gosh, I had clean forgotten that I co-edited Poetika once. Should have put that on my CVs when I had to send some out earlier this year. I hope I remember, the next time I need to!

    • Subashini says:

      Thanks, Sharanya. I know it’s one poem, but I feel so… validated. Possibly the feeling will wear out soon. ;)

      Yup, I still have a few tattered copies of Poetika somewhere. I know I filed them away. Now if only I can find it…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Published poem at The Blog of Disquiet.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,437 other followers

